Stockholm Resilience News

Subscribe to Stockholm Resilience News feed
Research, education and centre news from Stockholm Resilience Centre
Updated: 7 hours 46 min ago

Fewer fish for least developed countries

Thu, 06/22/2017 - 07:28
Fisheries in least developed countries among world’s most vulnerable to climate change

Sustainability whack-a-mole

Wed, 06/21/2017 - 02:46
Placed-based sustainability efforts often fail to recognise the risk of piling up the environmental pressure elsewhere

Creating positive visions of southern Africa

Thu, 06/15/2017 - 05:18
How an ongoing project aims to develop positive visions of the Anthropocene for southern Africa and beyond

Johan Rockström global Hillary Laureate for 2017

Tue, 06/13/2017 - 03:00
Centre director selected from a global short-list of remarkable candidates demonstrating "extraordinary leadership in mid-career"

When to be adaptive in governance

Mon, 06/12/2017 - 11:16
New study explores how information and collaboration influence governance networks, and highlights trade-offs and benefits of using adaptive policies

Apply to our leadership programme

Mon, 06/12/2017 - 05:29
We seek change makers for LEAP - a new leadership programme on human and planetary opportunities

How far are we pushing chemical boundaries?

Thu, 06/08/2017 - 18:05
Researchers alarmed by levels of chemical pollution in water and soil in both developed and developing countries

How much water in a fish?

Wed, 06/07/2017 - 11:41
New study introduces the 'seafood gap', the forgotten freshwater use in seafood production chains

An overview: The Colloquium on Resilience and Development

Wed, 06/07/2017 - 10:52
From 8-10 May 2017, a colloquium on resilience and development co-hosted by the GRAID programme took place in Johannesburg, South Africa

Engaging the private sector in SDG14

Tue, 06/06/2017 - 09:01
The Seafood Business for Ocean Stewardship (SeaBOS) initiative Friday, 9 June, 2017. Opening remarks by HRH Crown Princess Victoria of Sweden, Advocate for the UN Sustainable Development Goals

"Renouncing its role as a global leader"

Fri, 06/02/2017 - 08:34
Centre director Johan Rockström addresses Donald Trump's decision to pull the US out of the Paris climate accord

Is adaptive co-management delivering?

Thu, 06/01/2017 - 05:40
Possibly. Assessment of four UNESCO biosphere reserves reveals "myriad" of positive results

A better sense of place

Tue, 05/30/2017 - 08:41
Emerging research on people’s attachment to places can unlock capacity to better deal with change

A new scientific realism

Sun, 05/28/2017 - 15:30
Researchers call for a new ”embodied scientific realism” where connections between mind, body and nature are better accounted for

Spot the planted tree

Mon, 05/22/2017 - 04:54
Reports on tree cover increase in China fail to mention extensive commodity plantations is part of the increase

Small tesserae in a grand mosaic

Tue, 05/16/2017 - 04:28
Mosaic governance: introducing approach that can better account for various actors engaged in urban green development

Swallowing valuable land

Wed, 05/10/2017 - 08:54
Rapid urban expansion leaves Indian megacity Chennai without essential ecosystem services

Bulding resilient foodscapes

Mon, 05/08/2017 - 06:48
During centre-hosted workshop, Dr. Laura Lengnick, an award-winning soil scientist, shows how multifunctional landscapes contribute to community resilience

Carl Folke elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences

Thu, 05/04/2017 - 08:56
Recognised for "distinguished and continuing achievements in original research"

Breaking the cycle of poverty

Wed, 05/03/2017 - 14:00
Development aid must incorporate culture and nature better in efforts to push communities out of poverty, researchers argue

Pages